Skip To Main Content

Cecilia McDowall adjudicates the annual Composition Competition

on Thursday 24 March, the tireless work of those pupils attending, and whether such work would pay off, hung in the balance with the highly anticipated adjudication by the College’s Visiting Composer, Cecilia McDowall. Cecilia spoke in brief on the nature of composition as an art form: from the preparation, in putting together a title, duration, and dedication, to the execution. A task daunting to all, but the reward of which far surpasses the difficulty arriving to it. The adjudication followed, with notes on everyone's pieces, both positive and constructive for all involved. The competition was divided into four categories, Years 7-9, Year 10, Year 11 and Years 12-13.

The winners

  • Years 7-9 Category: Dorian Todd-Miller (9L)
  • Year 10 Category: Henry Armstrong (10H)
  • Year 11 Category: Ho-Tin Loke (11G), Sam Cai (11A), Tom Barnett (11C)
  • Years 12-13 Category: Devin Liu (12SAHW), Felix Patten (12LGM)

Discover More