Skip To Main Content

Chapel Choir 21st Anniversary Concert

A 400 Archive page published in 2019

Chapel Choir 21st Anniversary Concert

A chamber and choral concert was given in All Saints Church on Friday 14 June to celebrate the College’s 400th Anniversary. This concert also marked the 21st anniversary of the re-formation of the College’s Chapel Choir. The programme opened with the Prelude & Fugue in E flat, St Anne, BWV 552 for organ which was played by Douglas Tang, OA.  Luca Franchi, Year 12, Violin and Mr Luis Parés, Piano then performed the last movement of César Franck’s Violin Sonata and the first half of the concert concluded with a performance of the first movement of Mendelssohn’s Octet.  A performance of this work was the idea of Keith Penfold, OA and the octet itself consisted of Robin Martin, OA, Finlay Johnston, Year 10, Miles Camilleri, Year 10, Keith Penfold, OA, Yuki Suter, Year 10, Miss Lesley Larkum, the College’s Head of Strings, Hannah Sloane (whose brothers are both OAs) and Mrs Jane Friend.

Performance of the first movement of Mendelssohn’s Octet

The second part of the programme was a performance of Bach’s Magnificat BWV 243 sung by the Chapel Choir and accompanied by an orchestra of players from the College and musicians closely connected to the College. The soloists were Elizabeth Atherton, Soprano, Robin Blaze, Counter Tenor, Ben Miller, OA, Tenor and Mr Philip Tebb, Bass. Jacob Taylor, William Barter Sheppard, Nikolas Vrahimis, Bertie Poullis and Felix Schneideman were soloists for the trio, Suscepit Israel. The orchestra was led by Miss Lesley Larkum and the conductor was Mr Richard Mayo, Director of Music. 

Performance of Bach’s Magnificat BWV 243

Discover More